New Years Fave Five

I’m excited to join in with Susanne’s Fave Five, celebrating weekly blessings during 2014.

1. A trip to Legoland with my parents, sister and nephew!

cousins at legoland

The cousins love each other so much and since thousands of miles separate their homes, it is always a delight to be together.

2. An amazing church family that blesses and cares for me and my family during the usual ups and downs of military life.

3. I became a follower of FlyLady last January. While I’ve fluttered and spluttered my way along and am far from soaring, FlyLady has brought freedom and forgiveness (and success!) to my abominable housekeeping!

christmas decor 2013

Thanks to FlyLady, I packed up my Christmas decorations with ease and am able to bravely face the 2 cross country moves I will have before unpacking them next Christmas.

4. We celebrated our sweet Liam’s 4th birthday!

liam's bday 2013

He is a sweet, tender-hearted boy with such a fierce, stubborn streak that we treasure, knowing it will help him stand strong in the Lord as an adult. I love his joy of learning Scripture. We work on a verse at bedtime each night and he gets so excited when he finally has it down and understands what he has memorized. Daddy and I can’t wait to see how God will grow you this next year, sweet little warrior!

5. Reflecting on the past year.  It’s been a tumultuous 2 years for us and this past year has seen so much growth in our children.  I wrote long lists in my journal of accomplishments and trials our children endured this year. Hope you all had a good first week of 2014~ reflecting on the past year and looking toward the hope of the coming year!

8 thoughts on “New Years Fave Five

  1. Hi Mia!
    Wonderful favorites. How encouraging to look back and see the growth that has happened with your children. Katie and Andrew are looking at 2 moves this year, too. I get to do the first cross country drive with Katie later in the Spring since Andrew is in Afghanistan…

  2. I enjoyed reading your faves. There is a Legoland park close to where I live. We had annual passes for a couple of years.

    I “discovered” Flylady close to 10 years ago. Her system really helped me, especially when my kids were younger and I had to do everything myself.

    Reflecting is good; hope your 2014 is filled with blessings.

    P.S.- Thanks for visiting my blog and taking the time to comment. 😉

  3. Hello Mia! Welcome to FFF! What a sweet family! Love your header picture! Happy birthday to Liam. I love that you keep a journal of the children’s accomplishments for the year. Two moves in a year?! Praying it goes smoothly for you!

  4. oh welcome to FFF..it’s been so awesome over the years of doing this fun writing exercise to see what blessings the Lord brings to others. Thank you for your kind comments at my blog…and I hope to see you again for the FFF….enjoy the weekend!

  5. Welcome to the Fives, Mia! I was just reading some of your previous entries about your Christmas blessings. They are truly amazing. So glad those two dear children are on their way to being forever yours. Must’ve been such a precious time to be near your family over the holidays.

  6. Hello Mia,
    Welcome to FFF. It is such a great way to chronicle blessings and get to know some great ladies. Your faves are so sweet. Love the idea of having your kiddos brainstorm with you the triumphs of last year. I also love the name of your blog. I know some parents who have adopted children and I am going to pass along the idea of a “love tree.”

  7. Welcome to FFF! I’m so glad you are participating -it is a great way to keep track of blessings.

    I love how you are teaching your children scripture. It’s the most important thing we can teach and an area that I did not do so well as a parent. Don’t make my mistake!

    Also, I just wanted to let you know that I’m a flybaby as well and learned some valuable things over the years. One thing I always do is to have a shiny sink before I go to bed and before I leave for work in the morning.

Leave a Reply

