Fave Five Jan 31

FFF birds on a wire

Join myself and others in this exercise of gratitude by heading over to Susanne’s at Living to Tell the Story.  She hosts us each week so we can find and share the blessings in our lives.

1.  Routine. I’ve had a catch-up week.  We’re catching up on house work and school and just being home.  I’ve loved seeing family and friends these past few weeks, but it’s also nice to just settle and get back into a routine- my little boy in particular is much happier with a routine.

2. Rain!  We sleep with the window open, so I woke to the delicious sound of wind and rain last night.  Although I couldn’t handle all the dreary, grey weather living in the Pacific Northwest, I LOVE having a bit of rain to break up the sunshine here in SoCal.

3. Knitting. I’m  decreasing the toe on my second sock!  They’re the same size, the stripes match up… whew.  Just need to finish them up and send them off to their recipient tomorrow.  :o)

4. Weight– I’ve lost 10 pounds since Christmas and just keep losing steadily.   Having gained 10-15 pounds with each of our fertility treatments (and we’ve done 3!), losing weight has been a big challenge.  It’s a bizarre thing to watch your body expand and grow that much over the course of just 8-12 days.  You can actually watch your face change from day to day.  Some folks do fine with the meds and don’t gain any weight, but I know quite a few women who have had the same experience.   It’s exciting to watch it come off because I feel so great as I lose- healthy  and energized!  :o)

Here’s one major thing that’s helped: a green smoothie for lunch.  Just combine:

– 8-12 oz fluid base (we use either water or the green juice from Trader Joe’s but you can also use almond milk)

-Greens (I use half a bag of spinach and half a bunch of kale… if I have baby bok choy around I add that  in addition to the spinach and kale)

-Fruit (I use 1 banana, 1.5 cups frozen berries, and fresh pineapple, if I have any on hand)

-Flaxseed meal (about a table spoon or so)

This makes enough for one big glass for me and a small glass for each of my kids to have along with their lunch.

5. Technology. Between blogs, FaceTime, Skype, and Facebook I’m able to keep up with friends and family quite literally around the globe.  It’s such a blessing.

Blessings on each of your weeks!  I hope you find joy in the mundane, hope in the despair.

10 thoughts on “Fave Five Jan 31

  1. Glad you’ve had good catch-up time at home this week. That’s great that you’ve been able to take off those pounds. A great accomplishment. Technology really has been a blessing with staying in touch…
    Have a great weekend!

  2. I always love getting back to routine after a break. The break is nice, but it is usually enough to send me craving my own space and schedule again.

    I would have a hard time living where it is dreary and grey all the time. Glad you got some needed rain!

    Kudos to you for losing 10 lbs.!

  3. I thrive on routine and work with autistic and emotionally fragile 1st graders who also need routines in place during their school day….so I love that you wrote about that! YAy for taking off the weight…..I want to try a green smoothie but…i just can’t fathom combining spinach with fruit. I love both. Separately. But i do wanna try it sometime. I should get my blender out this weekend and give it a workout! 🙂 I hope you have a restful weekend.

  4. I love green smoothies, but I have been lazy about making them. I need/want to get back on track with having one for breakfast. I love the idea that I’ve started my day with some veggies!

    Congrats on the weight loss. What discipline. Also congrats on your socks coming out so well. I bet the recipient will be pleased.

    I wrote about rain this week too. Hurray for waking up to that sound and then going outside and taking a big whiff. . . . I hope you have a wonderful week of routine and a healthy family.

  5. I too am thankful for technology so that I can keep up with my kids now that they are starting live away from home. I love routine and so do my preschool dayhome kids. Doing different things is always fun but they do tend to thrive better with certain routines set into our days. Way to go on the weight loss!

  6. Routine can be a great thing — especially with kids. I knew how to crochet once…but it’s been a long time ago. I’d like to refresh my memory! Congrats on weight loss — that’s great! Have a great week ahead.

  7. I’m thankful for skype and email and cell phones and facebook! I think I’ll be even more thankful in a few months.
    Routines are so important, I’m glad you’re back in the routine.
    Yay for 10 lbs!

  8. Love your posts! How is GRE studying going? So happy your weight loss has helped you feel better. Not about the number but how your body feels!

  9. It’s almost time for the next Friday’s fave ! You apparently had a nice week, even with rain. As I am in the rain everyday, I wished I could sleep without rain, lol !

Leave a Reply

