Fave Five Feb 7

FFF birds on a wire

Thanks for joining us to focus on finding our favorite blessings of the week.  To see more of the gratefulness fest, visit Susanne at Living to Tell the Story.

I can barely remember what I had for lunch today, much less what I did in the last week!  It was spent mostly at home, doing school and playing, one day blending into another.

1. Wine & Cheese.  We had a wine & dessert night on Saturday for the ladies in my church.  It was fun to spend time getting to know each other and enjoying games and socializing.  I do love our church so much.

2. Rain. I know I said it last week, but I love it!  I get to wear sweaters and there’s always a pot of tea on. You know you live in Southern California when counting how many raindrops are on the window by your carseat is an exciting form of entertainment for your children…  Bonus- we get to multi-task by using the counting game as math for the day.  Homeschool Win.

3. Olympics.  Speaking of homeschooling, we’ve been gearing up all week for the opening ceremonies of the Sochi Winter Olympics 2014!  We covered geography, history, social studies, art, and math. The Princess has completely fallen in love with figure skating and my four year old prayed ever so earnestly to get to be a “speed runner in the summer olympics some day”.

Olympics school

4. Knitting.  It’s so relaxing.  I cast on another pair of socks and I just LOVE this yarn.  My Mum gave it to me and it’s all the right kinds of bright and happy- perfect for these dreary days we’ve had. How have I never knit socks before?? I’m addicted.

cable top sock1

5. Dog Sitting.  We’re watching this cutie patootie while our friends are in Brazil.  I love having a dog around, but it reminds me why we’ve agreed not to get a dog until we have a yard at our next place:  I had to walk him late at night in the rain before heading to bed.  Brrrr.  It’s been a good test run to see how the kiddos do with a dog, though, as we are looking into getting the Princess a service dog as a night time companion.Tucker1

Tucker2

Isn’t he precious?  Such a snuggler.

So that was our weekly recap.  Hope you all have a blessed week and enjoy the international festivities!  :o)

8 thoughts on “Fave Five Feb 7

  1. Hi Mia,
    I wrote about the rain too. CA is ever so slowly catching up. I don’t use a tea pot to steep my tea, I’ve been using a quart-size mason jar. My tea pot is on the top shelf and I am too lazy to to get it down.

    Your socks do look cheery. Isn’t it fun to find new things that capture our attention? Doing something creative is such a stress relief and in your case will bless someone.

    LOVE your Olympic artwork. What a fun thing to include as part of your kiddos’ curriculum.

    Have a great weekend.

  2. First I have to tell you as I told your Mum…I admire anyone who can knit! Oh and socks! I wish I could knit socks! How cool! (or warm) Second, we have a dotson and he is a lover! His father was a long haired like this one so his fur in really thick. So smart and loyal this breed.
    Praying you have more “dreary” days! (which means rain!) 🙂
    Hope you have a great weekend!

  3. So glad your state is finally getting some rain! we have been reading about it here in NY…about your drought. we have tons of snow and are quite ready for spring now. YAY for you doing some Olympic learning with your homeschooled kiddos. That’s great! The wine and cheese party sounds perfect…..always a fun thing! happy weekend!

  4. I’m cheating and watching the opening ceremonies on a Canadian channel we get here. What a fun thing to incorporate into learning about the world we live in. The school lessons are probably endless…
    Hope you have a great weekend!

  5. I enjoy ladies’ fellowships at church, too. We haven’t had one since Christmas – the lady who used to organize them left, so we haven’t had quite as many, unfortunately.

    I don’t know how to knit, either, and admire those who do.

    Glad you got some much-needed rain! And a chance to test out having a pet in the family.

  6. I had to laugh at the thought of what comprises games for Southern California children! It’s true. With so little rain here, we have only a few words for it: sprinkling and Storm Watch!

    I like the idea of testing out pet keeping not only for yourself but the children too. Snuggly pets are the best!

  7. I love the Olympics, too. What a great idea to incorporate into your kids’ lessons.

    I also think it was a great idea to pet sit to see if you’d like to have a pet. My uncle always had dachshunds. They are so friendly!

  8. So sweet about the kids and their comments about the olympics. I’ve loved the Olympics since I was a kid too and get glued to watching it, and totally getting into the joys and disappointments of all the different athletes. In dayhome this week we made some really sweet olympic “torches” in craft time.

    That is one cute dog and dog sitting is a perfect way to get the kid’s feet wet to the all the work a pet takes!

Leave a Reply

