Today is THE DAY

In case you didn’t know, today is kind of a big deal.

If you didn’t know, it’s probably because you don’t have a girl 8 years or younger prominently influencing your life.

Because today, people, the long awaited arrival of the Frozen DVD finally hit stores.  Coast-to-coast moms, aunts, big sisters, all swarm like rabid beasts to secure a copy for the special little princess in their life.  The refrains of Olaf and Elsa filter ceaselessly from home to home.

We have a sickie over here, so it was a perfect day to cuddle up with THE MOVIE.

frozen sick day

While one belted out Let It Go at record decibels and the other hacked away, I rested.  Long night before, up most of the time watching over my little man, and I was exhausted.  So I enjoyed the sunny view, knitted on some socks, and sipped down my third- ok, fourth cup of coffee.

frozen knitting

Speaking of Let It Go, the song has hit the nation like a rock-packed slush ball.  Whether you’ve heard the original theatrical performance

Or seen one of the many parodies, I think the Frozen Father has summed up the feelings of parents worldwide: Please, for the love of all sanity, let it be gone.  Please.

Bet you can’t get the song out of your head now, huh?  You’re welcome.

Un-beknownst to me until recently, there’s actually been quite a bit of hullaballoo about this movie.  Some folks from the Christian circle are touting the movie as one of the most Christian-themed movies of the year while others are arguing that it is one of the most ‘progressive’ movies of the year.  Steven D. Greydanus has some interesting thoughts on the discussion.  Since he’s far more eloquent and analytical than I, I’ll let you decide on the merit of his perspective.

For now, I’m going to go put Dave Matthews on repeat and attempt to shake the last vestiges of THE SONG from my internal playlist.

2 thoughts on “Today is THE DAY

  1. I am NOT clicking play on those videos tonight because I don’t want those songs in my head all night long and in my dre– ummm– nightmares. Hoping and praying the little one feels fine tomorrow.

  2. I’m with your mom…I’m not going to listen to the videos, although I’ve heard Katie singing the song in the shower…

Leave a Reply

