Finally Home ~ FFF

FFF fall flowers

 

1. We’re FINALLY moved in to our new HOME.  In the last 6 months we’ve had 4 homes in 3 different states.  I’m so ready to be settled and so grateful that the Lord has provided us with a lovely home to nest in for the next few years.

reading chair

Everything is still being unpacked and organized but WE’RE HOME.

2.  Fall Routine.  Little Warrior is going to preschool a few days a week and LOVING it.    The Princess started school a few weeks back and is doing really well.  I waffle occasionally on if we should put her in school or keep her home but the bottom line is she just learns so much better with the one-on-one attention we can provide at home.  We’ve been doing a pretty light schedule – focusing on the basics of reading and math- as we ease in to the year but now that we’re moved in we’ll add the rest of the supplemental subjects.

happy autumn

I’m so proud of how hard my Princess works.  School is particularly hard for her but she still tries her very best. In the end, I suppose that’s the best take-away she can get from school- a character that works diligently in the face of adversity.

3.  New Friends.  This humorous blog post sums it up so well.  It’s hard to make new friends, and I certainly miss all of my amazing friends from home so much, but it’s exciting to see the Lord forge new friendships out here and I can’t wait to see where they lead.

4.  A poem by Corrie Ten Boom, shared at my women’s bibles study.

Life Is But A Weaving

My life is but a weaving
Between my God and me.
I cannot choose the colors
He weaveth steadily.
Oft’ times He weaveth sorrow;
And I in foolish pride
Forget He sees the upper
And I the underside.
Not ’til the loom is silent
And the shuttles cease to fly
Will God unroll the canvas
And reveal the reason why.
The dark threads are as needful
In the weaver’s skillful hand
As the threads of gold and silver
In the pattern He has planned
He knows, He loves, He cares;
Nothing this truth can dim.
He gives the very best to those
Who leave the choice to Him.

5.  Celebrating 8 years with my amazing man.  Many things in our life together have been a struggle but life with him has always been good.  While we work hard at our marriage, it’s not laborious. It’s a joy. He’s the most amazingly easy person to love.  He’s hilarious- a makes me laugh til I pee my pants kind of hilarious.  He’s kind.  He’s loving.  He works incredibly hard to provide for his family.  And I’m so grateful to share my life with him.

wedding prayer

I know that our happy marriage is solely because it was founded in and is nourished upon the unconditional love of Christ.

wedding pic blurryOh my goodness, we were so young…

Little Warrior asked me this week, “Mommy, were you in the Triassic period?”  I know I’ve aged since my wedding, but really, millenia?!  😉  It seems he’s been reading too many dinosaur books…

Extra blessing: My best friend and nieces-in-love came for a spur of the moment sleep over!  Just one night – always too short – but it was absolutely wonderful to see them!!  🙂

Thank you to Susanne at Living to Tell the Story for hosting us this week.  To see more posts about Friday Fave Fives, pop on over to her blog!

 

10 thoughts on “Finally Home ~ FFF

  1. Happy Anniversary to you two. Yes, you really were so young :). I’m so glad that you are at home and getting settled. And glad that your bestie made that quick turn around trip.

  2. Happy Anniversary and congratulations on your new home. What a week of celebrations!! You must feel so good.

    And well done to your little ones. So glad they’re settling into the new school schedule and doing well. (your little guy is like my middle boy – loved dinosaur books 😉 )

    Happy weekend!

  3. I can imagine that you are so happy to move finally into your home ! We will celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary now in October ! That’s a looong time with the same man, lol !

  4. There’s no place like home – so glad for you that you are settled in yours!

    Happy anniversary! You both looked so young and beautiful in your pictures.

    May you have a blessed weekend!

  5. So many good blessings in your week, Mia. I can almost hear your sigh as you begin settling in for the duration! I love it that you are monitoring your children’s learning habits so closely and tailoring to fit their needs.

  6. I’m visiting from FFF. Congratulations on your anniversary! We recently made a 900 mile move, so I can sympathize with some of what you are feeling. Glad you are getting settled. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

