Fave Five

FFF fall leaves 2

Friday Fave Five is hosted by Susanne each week and offers a place for us to come together and share favorites moments and blessings of the week.  It’s a great exercise in gratitude!

1. Grandpa is here! Grandpa comes out to the East Coast a few times a year for business and always extends his travel so we can spend the weekend together.

gpa and gma 1-15

A picture from Grandpa’s visit last January, when Grandma got to come along! ❤

We wish Grandma could be here as well, but are grateful for all the family time we can get out here.  Never take for granted being close to family.  It’s a joy and a treasure that we miss dearly. (Close, for us, means four hours driving or less.  That’s the closest we’ve ever lived to family. Oh for the day we could live in the same city!! ❤ )

2. Fun times at the Maryland Renaissance Festival.

IMG_2296

3. A warm home as weather gets cold and wet. We’re praying for people affected by Hurricane Joaquin in the Bahamas and for people already experiencing flooding along the East Coast.

4. Happy hearts and funny words.  Little Warrior had a rough week last week (he was growing and oh-so-cranky) but this week has been delightful and filled with so much laughter. He’s been on a role with hilarious little one-liners that get me giggling.

At the Renn Faire, as this knight rode out, he enthusiastically exclaimed , “Mom! He’s the stuff legends are made of!”

IMG_2285

And while on the phone with my Mum after karate yesterday, he started chocking on his oatmeal because, you know, you’re supposed to swallow before shoving 4 more bites in your mouth (did I mention he’s been growing like a bean sprout..?? Eat ravenously. Sleep. Repeat.). After dealing with the lack of oral space issue, he worried aloud, “I think my digestive track is broken”, sending us into fresh peals of laughter.  As his sweet Mema assured him we were laughing WITH him, not AT him, he replied matter-of-factly, “I know.  It happens all the time.”  These weeks of hilarity keep me pushing on through the tough ones.   🙂

5. Sweaters, scarves & boots- oh my!  While I may detest the cold and dreary winters out here, I sure do love getting to pull out my wellies (most comfortable shoes I own!) and snuggle up in cozy, knitted goods.

5 thoughts on “Fave Five

  1. OH that boy makes me laugh! I mentioned his humorous one liners as one of my faves too.
    Having Grandpa there to visit is a delight and comfort, I’m sure.

  2. Oh your little boy sounds so adorable!! I have lived on the east coast my entire life (well, first in central NY so Northeast 🙂 and now in eastern NY quite near the MA border and I must say we have the BEST autumns!! Embrace it…there is nothing like the crisp, clear days and the gorgeous colors!! And winter can be ok….just find what you enjoy….i don’t do winter sports although I WILL hike a flat trail if not below 10 degrees or extremely icy and it’s a great time to visit museums, concerts, read good books and bake 🙂 Enjoyed your faves list.

  3. Your little guy’s humour certainly is a blessing. I am not quick with one liners and admire all who are.

    Hurray for grandparents who can and do visit. My mom would visit us (CO and England) when we didn’t live in the same town. My dad never did. His health was poorly and he was such a SHY guy.

    Wellies and scarves are great Fall/Winter gear. I need some new boots so I can go puddle splashing with my grand daughter (assuming we get an rain this year).

  4. Your little guy had me cracking right up. So funny in their innocence! We went to our first renaissance faire this year and we loved it. So much to do and watch. I too am thankful for a warm home as it’s cold and raining out right now.

Leave a Reply

